Shop H.E. Bates Online
The Fabulous Mrs V
Story Collection
Page Count
Michael Joseph
Bloomsbury Publishing Ltd
Publication Year
Document Types
available as ebook

London: Michael Joseph, 1964.

A late collection of twelve stories. While the New Statesman and Spectator found nothing to praise, the Times Literary Supplement found that the collection "demonstrates that both his vigour and unique ability to evoke, visually, his settings and characters remain undiminished despite an enormous output."

Bates discussed The Fabulous Mrs V in a 1964 BBC radio interview (Home Service) with Philip Holland


  • New Statesman (March 13, 1964, p. 415, Robert Taubman, attached)
  • Spectator (March 13, 1964, p. 350, Norman Levine, attached)
  • Times Literary Supplement (March 12, 1964, p. 209, Julian Maclaren-Ross, attached)
  • Punch (March 25, 1964, p. 472, Malcolm Bradbury, attached)
  • Sunday Times (March 8, 1964, p. 37, Frederic Raphael, attached)

Contains: And No Birds Sing, The Fabulous Mrs. V, A Couple of Fools, The Ginger-Lily Girl, Afternoon at the Chateau, A Party for the Girls, The Cat who Sang, The Trespasser, The Diamond Hair-Pin, A Dream of Fair Women, A Nice Friendly Atmosphere, The Lotus Land. ebook edition (Bloomsbury, 2016) also contains The Electric Christ.


The below reviews and articles are available in PDF format.